You are currently viewing 2023 Chesley Award Winners

2023 Chesley Award Winners

These are the winners of the 2023 Chesley Awards


Best Cover: Hardcover Book:  Manzi Jackson based on the photography of CreativeSoul – Africa Risen edited by Sheree Renee Thomas, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki, & Zelda Knight (Tor; November 2022)

Best Cover: Paperback or Ebook: Luisa Preissler – The Last Stand of Mary Good Crow By Rachel Aaron (Aaron Bach LLC; June 2022)

Best Magazine Illustration: Tehani Farr – Eternus #1 Metal Variant; October 2022

Best Interior Illustration: Omar Rayyan – Animal Farm by George Orwell (Suntup Editions; December 2022)

Best Gaming Related Illustration: Ryan Pancoast – “Discover the Impossible” (WofC Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty; February 2022)

Best Product Illustration: Nico Delort – The Lighthouse (Mondo; March 2022)

Best Color Work- Unpublished: Serena Malyon – ”Steady” Watercolor and acryla gouache

Best Monochrome-  Unpublished: Ed Binkley – “Listener”; Colored Pencil and Acrylic

Best Three Dimensional Art: Dug Stanat – “The Boatman: In Memory of Those Who Died Alone”; Mixed Media

Best Art Director: Neil Clarke – Clarkesworld

Artistic Lifetime Achievement Award: Gregory Manchess

Leave a Reply