The Chesley Awards were established in 1985 as ASFA’s peer awards to recognize individual works and achievements not otherwise recognized by the Hugo Awards, during a given year. The Chesleys were initially called the ASFA Awards, but were later renamed to honor the famed astronomical artist Chesley Bonestell after his death in 1986. The awards are usually presented annually at the World Science Fiction Convention or at the North American Science Fiction Convention when the Worldcon is held outside of North America.

The Awards are nominated and decided upon by the members of our community, the Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists. The categories and rules for the Awards are set out by ASFA.

You can view a full list of the past winners of the Chesley Awards here on the site.